Trend #018 - She made $200k in the printable niche

p/s: you can use AI to do 80% of the work.

Hey,

4 years ago, I started an Etsy store. At that time, Notion was just becoming popular and I was HOOKED.

But the templates on the market 4 years ago were clunky, inefficient, and most of all, UGLY AF. I wanted something inspiring but there wasn’t anything like that in the market. So I created an Etsy store to sell beautiful notion templates.

And it worked. 🤑

Despite only having 4 products on my store, I was getting sales. No ads. No marketing. I just listed it on Etsy. In the end, those 4 products made me 4 figures. Not bad for a side hustle.

But I didn’t have a growth strategy. I didn’t even take the store seriously. Until last week.

On Sunday, I saw someone talking about creating ✨HIGH VALUE PRINTABLES ✨ for profit. Curious, I went on Etsy to do some digging. What I found made me wish I had paid more attention to my store.

😵 High Value Printables - A missed opportunity?

You see, most people are missing a HUGE opportunity in the Printables market. When they think of printables, they think:

  • Low-value items, like a pretty calendar

  • Cheap target market, like parents of bored kids

That, my friend, is why so many stores are struggling on Etsy. They are competing with 100s of other stores making EXACTLY the same thing. Running expensive ads on Etsy. Competing on price.

Then I came across this store on Etsy. Vanessa, who runs the store, is printing $200k on just ONE store.

Let’s look at how she does it 👇

👀 It’s all about perceived value

A typical generic printable, like a to-do list sells for just $1.99 on Etsy. Vanessa’s templates cost $20. 💰

1️⃣ Her templates solve a specific problem - Her store is called Mental Health Center and ONLY creates printables to help teens and children with mental health, e.g. “Trauma PTSD worksheets for teens”.

2️⃣ It’s a build once, still many times product with no cancellations or refunds. (No dealing with wrong T-shirt sizes.)

3️⃣ Huge upsell potential - I’d be surprised if she doesn’t have a funnel in place to offer custom coaching for her customers. The store is just the start of the funnel. And it’s getting FREE TRAFFIC from Etsy.

🔥 Opportunities for YOU

After going down the rabbit hole on Etsy, I’ve found 3 other interesting niches that are undeserved.

✨ Photography backdrops - Photographers and editors (or Instagram influencers) are always looking for backdrops for maternity shots, newborn photoshoots and product shots.

✨ Social media templates - Templates that achieve a specific type of aesthetics (e.g. grid templates) or industry (e.g. for insurance brokers). Offer free guides to increase the perceived value.

Children’s printables - Vanessa’s store is just one example. There are plenty of others like “wedding activity packs”, and “money management for kids”.

👁 The Business Model

I’ve put together a business model for this business. In the template, you’d find 2 other stores that are crushing it on Etsy, how to get your first 100 customers and a quick step-by-step on how to build this business.

It’s yours for FREE. Download it here.

Do you like One Page Business Models like this?

Thinking of doing more business model templates like these. Vote here or drop me an email (Just Reply with Yes or No 😀 ).

Lastly, are you excited about this printable niche? If you are thinking of starting one, drop me an email. Happy to share my lessons learned and mistakes to help you get started.

Until next time,

Hazel

❤️ Want to support my work?

  • Share What The Hype with a friend and invite them to subscribe here.

  • Book an ad in What The Hype (check out our factsheet).

  • Book a 1-2-1 session with me to talk about all things SAAS, AI and managing change at a business.