Trend #010 - How I Built a Startup with a $1 Budget Using ChatGPT4 (Part 2)

Did I successfully sell this project? How much did it go for?

Hey,

Welcome to the 60 new subscribers to What The Hype.

Today, we'll dive into the second part of the series, "Using ChatGPT to Build Your Startup (Part 2)" to explore the fate of my hustleGPT project.

What you will learn:

  • Two most promising hustleGPT ideas you can start

  • The hidden yet accessible hustleGPT discord group and directory you can join

  • The biggest risk for creators & digital entrepreneurs using GPT

  • What happened to my GPT challenge

  • How much did it sell for?

  • What's next? (I have an exciting announcement!)

πŸ“£ Shout out - Build In Public Bootcamp 13th April

One of the reasons I've been able to grow my Twitter following from 0 to 2,000 in 3 months is by leveraging a technique a Twitter OG, Kevon Cheung called "building in public".

And next week, Kevon is generously offering a freeΒ Build In Public Bootcamp on 13th April to discuss how to build in public after the Twitter algorithm changes. Mark your calendars!

πŸ’Œ Psst, to get featured in this newsletter?

Share this newsletter on Twitter, your newsletter (or anywhere!) and send me a screenshot or a link. I will link to you in the next issue! .

Let's get back to today's topic πŸ‘‡

πŸ”Ž Quick Recap - WTF is #HustleGPT

In short, it's using generative AI to accelerate the startup process. Imagine having a co-founder capable of brainstorming ideas, coding, and crafting marketing plans & website copy... This is exactly how some people are leveraging GPT4 as a startup partner.

In the last issue - Trend #009 - How I built a Startup with a $1 Budget Using ChatGPT4 (Part 1), we walked through step by step how you can do it (πŸ‘†read that first if you haven't!)

Let's now look at some business ideas YOU can start.

πŸ”₯ OpportunitiesΒ 

After spending days browsing the Discord group for HustleGPT (it's free to join) and reviewing the database of hundreds of hustleGPT ideas in the group and on the public directory, I've identified the top two types of HustleGPT ideas:

β—†Micro SAAS & Apps:

Why

GPT can generate simple code, which you can incorporate into any No-Code web builder to create a fully-functional, dynamic website with high perceived value.

Idea

Develop a website that takes in your favorite cocktail ingredients and creates bespoke recipes for you, rather than just listing cocktail recipes.

β—†Digital info products

Why

Creating quality content with GPT is now 10 times faster.

Ideas

  • Beginner: A travel guide with AI-generated photography of Lisbon

  • Intermediate: An interactive travel guide that tailors custom travel plans based on your preferences (family-friendly, solo traveler)

  • Advanced: An interactive museum companion app that shares stories and histories of the galleries and rooms you explore.

πŸ’€ Risks Β 

  • GPT goes offline. Last week, GPT history went down, and 50% of the #hustleGPT challengers couldn't retrieve their work history. ❌

  • This question about human sovereignty:

From my experience, working with #HustleGPT is like collaborating with an incredibly intelligent employee. They can handle much of the legwork, but ultimately, it's up to YOU to review the output and make decisions.

What happened to my #hustleGPT challenge?

In the 2 weeks I ran my project, Savage Cards did:

  • πŸ‘€130k tweet impressions

  • 🌁480+ cards generated for users

  • πŸ“§~80 emails collected

  • ✨26 pdf rude cards were sent

  • πŸŽ‰5 offers were received to buy the project at No Code Sale day

  • πŸ’°1 offer accepted

Yes, that means my #hustleGPT project was successfully πŸŽ‰SOLDπŸŽ‰!! (And yes, we managed to beat our $500 target, by 20% ❀️)

Savage Cards

What next?

I polled my Twitter audience, and most of you suggested I should:

So that's precisely our plan! I'm officially embarking on the next challenge: using a $500 budget to develop a startup valued at $5,000 (either by selling the startup for $5,000 or generating $5,000 in sales).

This endeavor reminds me of the red paperclip challenge, in which Kyle Macdonald made a series of trades, starting with a red paperclip and ultimately acquiring a two-story farmhouse.

In a similar vein, I'll be undertaking the 🟣Startup Paperclip Challenge🟣. This fits in with my philosophy of taking multiple small, but increasingly ambitious bets, and I am pumped to be starting the challenge after Easter.

Check out this landing page for an overview of the project's aspirations. I would love for you to come along or join the challenge's community Slack (it's free but limited to 50 seats).

p/s: Do you have any thoughts or want to help me make the idea a success (hint: I need video editors)? Drop me a reply! I would LOVE to hear from you. ❀️

Until the next one,

Hazel

❀️ If you like What The Hype and want to support my work